What is a “suburbo-type?”

Good question.

First let’s define a stereotype:  “a conventional, formulaic, and oversimplified conception, opinion or image.”   Free Dictionary.  A literary stereotype is a “character, whith generalized traits (characteristics that make the character a group representative rather than an individual).  Writers sometimes use stereotypes as minor characters.”  Esther Lombardi, published writer.

Now let’s define a suburb:  “an outlying part of a city or town, a smaller community within a distance of a city.”  One could argue that where I live is a city in and of itself, or the largest small town ever.

Suburbo-types is my attempt to dig deeper into my own mini-environment.  This environment, because I am white, female and over forty constitutes the following groups (not an all inclusive list):  book clubs, PTO, work groups, religious affiliations, sports parents, exercise buddies, yogis, school groups, carpools, neighborhoods, volunteer groups and community organizations.  More loosely defined groups include those who love art and music, seek self-improvement, enjoy a good girls night, occasionally indulge in the brief complaint about their otherwise wonderful husband and who are sometimes in way over their heads with this whole raising of children thing.  I am also extremely interested in those who are not of my ethnicity, gender or who have chosen to not have children or get married.

The main questions I would like to examine (via my conversations):

Why do we form the opinions we do?

How much is neurology and how much is our own experience?

What do my suburbo-types say about me?

Who are you and where can we meet?

I reserve the right to change these questions as this project evolves.  My ultimate dream is that I can find the just right questions and have others use them to dig deeper into their own environs.

2 comments on “What is a “suburbo-type?”

  1. Brilliant! I don’t know why it took me so long to get on here and read. I just got to this one and it put a huge smile on my face. I can’t wait to read more and catch up! Keep up the amazing processing and growth my friend! K

  2. dearsuburbia says:

    I love this! What an incredible project. I’ve been exploring and researching a bit myself in my little corner of suburbia. Love what you’re doing here as well. The concept of the suburbo-type is just perfection.

Leave a Reply

